Out in the Yard

I wanted to take advantage of the beautiful weather today, so I took my camera out into the yard.

The garden is spare but it does have some flowers growing:

The radishes have gone to seed.

The radishes have gone to seed.

I do have a bumper crop of wood sorrel, though

I do have a bumper crop of wood sorrel, though; it seems to grow no matter the weather!

wood sorrel leaves

The flatleaf parsley is nearly growing wild, and most of the stalks have flower heads now.

They look like little fireworks!

They look like little fireworks!

A variety of insects can be found on them – more than I think I’ve ever seen on any given type of plant!

Ants enjoy them...

Ants enjoy them…

...and flying bugs too!

…and flying bugs too!

I think there were at least six different insects flying around them, buzzing from flower head to flower head. Parsley nectar must taste very good!

And to finish off, a common weed here that I think is known as foxtail, for obvious reasons!

I try to get these out before they get to this point, but they do make for interesting photos!

I try to get these out before they get to this point, but they do make for interesting photos!

I also experimented with an idea that I had, though I’m sure I’m not the first to mess around with the ISO and f-stops. The results were promising, but the focus was off, so I’d rather not share the ones from today. I’ll have to try again!

Leave a Reply

