The Rest of the Story…

For my final Lake County Fair post, I collected photos that didn’t fit in the other posts, but filled out the rest of the story of the fair.

The Fair Queens, greeting their subjects

The Fair Queens, greeting their subjects

There is just something about the fair, about the simplicity of the events, the tech-less activities, that sends one back in time almost. It’s almost comparable to the Civil War reenactments, in that it showcases traditional American activities (family farming and animal husbandry, for example). It does differ from those ‘soldiers’ because it is still the way some people live in the county and the country.

But for how long? At what point will the county fair be passé? The gap between tech and tech-less is only going to get wider each year. Is that good or bad?

I tend to think that we need that contact with the farm, with the handmade, with the pride of achievement. It’s something that you can’t really get with technology – even with this blog, what do I have at the end of the day? What can I touch? Mail to someone? Give away? There is nothing in the real world I can point to.

That’s not to say technology is not good, but it seems like it’s going to be the most important ingredient in modern life, which some applaud.

I like the fair and what it represents, and I hope it stays popular!

And to finish off, two winners close to home:

Winners of the newly created video classes (the hubby is second from the right)

Winners of the newly created video classes (the hubby is second from the right-first place!)

My two ribboned photos from last year (red and white)

My two ribboned black and white photos from last year (red and white ribbons)

Neither of us entered anything this year – we ran out of time and I was dealing with my initial knee issue – but I’d really like to enter more photos next year. I think I’ve got some good ones!

Leave a Reply

