Horse Show!

My favorite part of the fair is the animals, and my favorite animal is the horse!

And we, well I, got lucky that there were horse classes being shown on the day we went!

First we came across an English class, all youths.pinto walking

I tried getting photos of all the horses, but not many were very good. I still rely on AF – found out it’s not that good in these situations!

They lined up for the final judging:lineup

Strange seeing cowboy hats judging English tack, but hey, if it works…

And the winner is…winner

Yes, I was fortunate enough to get a good shot of them moving around the ring!

Later in the day, they were running timed rodeo events.

Calm before the storm

Calm before the storm

I was able to get close to the rail, at the end where most of the action took place, but, again relying on AF, most of the shots came out out of focus.

Also, it wasn’t until we were almost done that I remembered I had a sports setting on the camera. D’oh!

Still, the flying hooves and manes look so wild – I wanted to be out there myself!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hadn’t seen a horse show in quite a while, and I would have watched them all day, but there were other things to see at the fair – and you’ll see the rest tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

