Prairie Wolf

Today, the heat broke, and it was nice, so we walked a preserve, Prairie Wolf Forest Preserve in Deerfield.landscape

This is a small preserve, tucked away north of Deerfield High School. It has been restored with the cooperation of many local businesses and organizations. It had been farmland, drained by buried tiles, but now it is a thriving wetland, replanted with 61,000 native plants.

The Middle Fork of the Chicago River runs on the east side of the preserve. It’s not deep, nor is it as wild as it should be, but the Prairie Wolf Slough helps keep it from overwhelming the developed areas downstream.

It being so small (435 acres), I didn’t expect to see a lot of wildlife, but the flowers more than made up for it. There were a few birds, mostly robins, goldfinches and red-winged blackbirds, but we did manage to catch a couple of others.

This song sparrow let me take lots of photos before it flew off

This song sparrow let me take lots of photos before it flew off

There were a lot of insects, too, mostly dragonflies and butterflies, a few kinds of each.

I didn't see the one in front until the other one flew off

I didn’t see the one in front until the other one flew off

A cabbage white, maybe?

A cabbage white, maybe?

But mostly, there were flowers. Lots and lots of flowers!

I didn’t even get a photo of every one I saw, but I did get some that I hadn’t seen before.

The feature photo is one that I don’t know the name of, but there were a lot out there.

A quick 2.25 walk, and I was done for the day – hot, sticky and a little ache in the knee.

Two weeks to surgery!

 

Leave a Reply

