Celestial Event

Tuesday night, after leaving my genealogical society meeting, I was taking pictures of clouds, the sun having just set.

The crescent moon stood out against the colored sky, surrounded by the darkening clouds, an image I always like to capture.

So I shot a couple and drove home.

I did keep an eye out, because I know there is an open field with an excellent view of the west, and I wanted to see if the sunset looked cool. That’s when I saw the planet glowing brightly.

Is that Venus? I thought, Or Mercury?

A quick check of my Starmap app and I saw that you could see both Mercury and Venus!

Of course, I had to try to get them all in one shot!moon 130611-IMG_4452

My little Canon SX120 takes excellent moon/star shots (something I can’t figure out with my Sony) and these were the best ones.

This one is a little dark, as I was playing with settings to pick up the stars without blowing out the sky

This one is a little dark, as I was playing with settings to pick up the stars without blowing out the sky

When I stopped, I still couldn’t see Mercury with the naked eye, but, not for the first time, the camera would eventually pick it up.

You can just barely see Mercury to the left and up from Venus.

You can just barely see faint Mercury to the left and up from Venus.

The clouds started moving over Venus after this, so shooting was done for the night.

It probably looked cooler the night before, with them all closer together, but I missed that chance.

Still, another conjunction to add to my celestial objects collection!

2 thoughts on “Celestial Event

  1. Lovely pictures. Sometimes you can enhance the visibility of objects in pictures like these by adjusting the contrast using the software resident in iPhoto (or the Windows equivalent) or whatever software came with your camera. . . . .
    I too use a small Canon and am always impressed with how well it does in low-light conditions. It’s a gift!
    Celia

Leave a Reply

