Walking in the Rain

We took a short walk today, having some time after a craft beer festival earlier in the day.

It had been cloudy all day, threatening rain, but not actually dropping any water on us.

I checked the weather before we went out to walk. The weather radar looked clear in our area, with rain to the south, and the prediction said the rains would miss us.

They didn’t.

Fortunately, it was a short trip, a 1.6-mile circuit in west Greenbelt. We wanted to see if there were any birds at the bird bathing area of the stream we had seen before, since water levels throughout the county have dropped to normal, and it hadn’t really rained much since then.

Except today.

Almost as soon as we got out of the car, it started. Just sprinkling, so we went on.

We came to the bridge over the stream, and approached slowly, so as not to scare off anything that might have been there.

But we did flush out something, a small heron, and as it landed a short distance away, we could see it was a green heron!

We’d seen one before, but I didn’t get a good picture of that one, so I wanted to get a decent shot of this one. Of course, everything conspired against me – rain, dark, distance.

I tried moving closer, cutting in behind the bird. It tolerated my approach until I would be 30 feet or so away, then it would move off a little bit. I took a lot of shots, but this is the best of the bunch, I think:

Still not a fantastic shot, but it's better than my other one

Still not a fantastic shot, but it’s better than my other one

Not long after this, the rains came. Not torrential downpours, but heavy enough to not take my camera out again.

So I really only got some good flower photos, so I’ll finish with them:

Leave a Reply

