August Storm

Another lucky capture!

I was driving my hubby to work and I watched this storm line develop. I hoped it would turn into something interesting and not peter out before I could get to a spot that I could see it well.

Fortunately, I came to an open area, a township park, and it gave a great panoramic view of the line of clouds approaching.storm panoramic

I find it strange and fascinating that the same wind forces that can create tornadoes can make these smooth, structured features.

The striations, that's what's cool!

The striations, that’s what’s cool!

storm IMG_6839storm panoramic 6831

The rain started and I drove on. A couple miles north stands St. Demetrios (which I’ve blogged about before) and I thought the clouds might look interesting above the church.

Facing north, with the cloud line heading east.

Facing north, with the cloud line heading east.

Unfortunately, the light was too dull to light up the gold dome, and the cloud line had already past. Still, I have to wonder, why, at the front of the line, are the clouds so organized, and just behind it, they are so disorganized?

Leave a Reply

