Birds, New and Old

See how narrow the Trail was here? That's a golf course to the right and homes to the left!

See how narrow the Trail was here? That’s a golf course to the right and homes to the left! There were signs to stay on the path.

Continuing on the Des Plaines River Trail in Lincolnshire…

There wasn’t much wildlife to see, mainly because it was all built up along this stretch. The only animals we saw were birds; mostly common species, but there were a few surprises!

If you’ve been following along, you’ll remember I saw an odd bird fly by at McDonald Woods. At the time I thought it looked like a cormorant, but I didn’t think that could be right.

Well, I was wrong!

We came on a small pond, and what was swimming in it? A cormorant!

Surprise!

Surprise!

And what was on a branch close to the path? Another cormorant!

Beautiful!

Too bad there were a lot of grasses between us!

Well, I just thought we were very lucky to see these double-crested cormorants! Little did I realize what was coming!

Further down the path, directly across from the Marriott Lincolnshire Resort, there was a swampy area that in wetter times was probably a pond. Here there be ducks!

First the mallard group in the feature photo, and then this small family of wood ducks:

They didn't stay very long

They didn’t stay very long

Mama took them far away from us very quickly.

Further along, past the resort, we moved into a subdivision, a very private and exclusive subdivision. The road was marked private, as was a large pond/small lake that was along the path. On this lake we spotted another cormorant flying in and landing in the water. How lucky, we thought!

Then we saw the tree.

How many do you see?

How many do you see?

We hoped we could get a good angle on them, but this shot is the best I could get:

I think there are more here now, yes?

Can you see them all better now?

We walked on a little further before we turned around, and from the other direction, I was able to get this shot:

Nice and close, not bad for my lens!

Nice and close, not bad for my lens!

So that was the highlight of that walk!

I looked it up when I got home, and apparently, double-crested cormorants actually live here in the county during the summer! I never knew that!

It’s amazing what you see if you go looking!

Leave a Reply

