Birds of Cuba (Marsh)

There were a lot of birds in the Cuba Marsh Forest Preserve.

A LOT!

I didn’t realize how many until I started going through the photos.

From the blue-gray gnatcatchers to the tree swallows, there were birds everywhere, a couple of them new for my album.

On the east side of the preserve, there is a lake that we could walk right up to the shore. That’s where the ducks were, and in abundance, tree and barn swallows flitting over the water.

I’d made it a challenge to capture these quick moving birds in flight, and using the sports setting, I was able to finally do it!

So those are the ones I could get decent photos of. I did see others that I couldn’t get:

• gray catbird

• common yellowthroat (maybe-I saw a little all-yellow bird that flew off pretty quick)

• double-crested cormorant (flying by)

• rufous-sided towhee (saw it bouncing around in the brush, it didn’t come out where I could get a good shot)

• American goldfinch

• sandpipers at the lake (too far away for a good shot)

And heard cardinals, cedar waxwings and woodpeckers.

The only bird I saw that I can’t really identify I saw for about two seconds. It flushed out while I was trying to get a shot of a song sparrow by a stream. I saw a dark, almost black head, a pale gold or orange color, and a different colored back, brownish, possibly greenish, with a lighter belly. Between the surprise and the thought that I could identify the bird by the dark head and light collar, that was all the detail I could absorb.

Well, it’s not that easy, of course. There is nothing that matches exactly. The closest I can come is a bay-breasted warbler, but I thought the back was lighter, and I don’t recall any rust color on it. So it’s a mystery!

Thus ends our tour of Cuba Marsh. We might hit Heron Creek this weekend, depending on the weather.

Leave a Reply

