Cuba Marsh 2

Walking in Cuba Marsh, part 2…

An anonymous donor gave the money to build this bridge in honor of Keith Peterson, a former LCFPD Board member

An anonymous donor gave the money to build this bridge in honor of Keith Peterson, a former LCFPD Board member

The longest stretch of path is what we walked first, from the parking lot to Citizens Park, at the southern access point. In this area is a large marshy area with a long boardwalk and bridge built over it. The water is being kept low right now for habitat restoration, but red-winged blackbirds were out in force.

I love seeing green come back!

I love seeing green come back!

This bridge would normally stand over a marsh, but a drainage ditch was flowing, keeping the water low.

On the shores of this ditch, and a couple other streams we saw, there were some LBBs hopping around the edges. Most of the time, I couldn’t see them, much less get their photo, but this one popped up out and landed on a cattail, posing for me!

Of course, I had the wrong lens on, but here is the little song sparrow in the center

Of course, I had the wrong lens on, but here is the little song sparrow in the center

There were birds, a lot of birds! Besides the few I’ve mentions in these posts, there were nearly as many that I couldn’t get a photo of. If you’re interested, tomorrow’s post will be a round-up of the birds I saw on this walk.

At the Citizens Park entrance is a bridge over a small dam. I saw the perfect opportunity to take a waterfall shot, getting the water blurry. Unfortunately, and I can’t believe I’m even thinking this, the sun was out and shining! So I waited for a cloud and took the shot then.

This was my second attempt at blurry water.

This was my second ever attempt at blurry water.

Still need some practice at this. *sigh*

Tomorrow – Birds of different feathers

Leave a Reply

