McDonald Woods 1

McDonald Lake takes up a good portion of the preserve.

McDonald Lake takes up a good portion of the preserve.

Next on the tour of Lake County Forest Preserves – McDonald Woods in Lake Villa!

It was the end of June, and the height of the drought. Towns all over the county were cancelling their fireworks because it was so dry.

So, we went for a walk!

McDonald Woods is a mix of wetlands, open prairie and woods.  We did see a lot of birds that we’d been seeing (goldfinches, red-wings) but I did manage to catch a couple for my album:

Song sparrows always look disheveled to me, feathers all out of whack

Song sparrows always look disheveled to me, with their feathers all out of whack

I caught this odd bird flying, didn’t know what it was. The out-of-focus shots I got, reminded me of cormorants I’d seen on TV, but hey, aren’t they more exotic? This must just be one far from home. (I do realize my mistake later, but that’s another post!)

This was the best of a bad series.

This was the best of a bad series.

Finishing off today’s post, we came upon the heron in the feature photo.

You know, herons are weird. They can see you coming, be standing 50 feet away in the water, but if you take one step closer, voom! they’re off and away! It’s even stranger when they are on the other side of a lake from you and they fly off, which is what this one did.

However, in this case, I did get a decent shot as he flew by:

He was calling the whole way.

He was calling the whole way.

Look familiar?

3 thoughts on “McDonald Woods 1

  1. Pingback: McDonald Woods 2 | Images of Lake County

  2. Pingback: Des Plaines River Trail 4 | Images of Lake County

  3. Pingback: Birds, New and Old | Images of Lake County

Leave a Reply

