After the Flood

Saturday was such a nice day, the hubby and I took a short walk along the Des Plaines River Trail. We were curious about how the trail survived the flood.

Having seen the beaver swimming, we also wanted to see how high the water was at the spot we had seen them before, what we’re coming to call Beaver Bridge.

The first thing we saw was the high water mark on the trail.

Looking south. All this was underwater, with those logs dropped gently as the water receded

Looking south. All this was underwater, with those logs dropped gently as the water receded

I had contemplated walking up to this area, since the road was closed to traffic, but this told me I wasn’t going to get very far then, so I’m glad I didn’t!

The chewed stump from yesterday’s post was located just up ahead there, along with about a half-dozen others, so the beavers were busy here while the water was high!

We got to Beaver Bridge and yep, the water was still high. There was beaver sign – a muddy area with stripped branches next to the bridge. So, they were still around this area. I wonder if they had kits or if the high water created a tragedy?

See, the water's still high - compare to the photo below

See, the water’s still high – compare to the photo below

March 2, with a nice ring of ice around them

From March 2. See the fork that is just above water level now?

It was on the bridge that I was able to catch the yellow-rumped warblers from yesterday. And it was walking further away from the bridge that I saw a brown bird bouncing around in the grass. I zoomed in as close as I could, getting as close as I could, and it’s still not a good photo.

Can you identify it from this shot?

Can you identify it from this shot?

I think it might be a palm warbler, but I really have no idea. Anyone?

We walked down the path as far as we could go, which wasn’t very far at all. This low spot was still flooded and impassable, if you didn’t want to get your feet and pants wet.

You can't get there from here

You can’t get there from here

You can see in the feature photo that the ducks were loving it! Still, it was right in this area that we saw the most wildlife at one time I think ever on our walks! Check out the gallery at the end for the bounty!

There is something I’ve noticed (unless it’s just me), but I can sit with my zoom lens on for the longest time, waiting for that bird to come out in the open. As soon as I put on my smaller lens, here it comes, right next to me, but too far away to be a good shot! Argh!

That’s what happened as we were headed back. I had my small lens on to take the high-water mark photo above, and right next to us, this little bird sat in the tree and started preening. I didn’t think it would wait for me to change lenses, so I just kept shooting with what I had. I could see clearly through the viewfinder that it was a ruby-crowned kinglet, but you can’t really tell from this photo:

It's a bad photo, but the best of the lot. Sorry!

It’s a bad photo, but the best of the lot. Sorry!

Still, another new bird for me!

OK, that’s all for that walk!

It was 80°F today, and sunny, so I was able to get pictures of my daffodils and hyacinths. That’s for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

