Fungus Amungus

These were on a log in Ryerson Woods

These were on a log in Ryerson Woods

Today’s post is about something a lot of people don’t notice, but it has its own beauty.

I speak, of course, about the humble fungus. Specifically, the mushroom. I seemed to see a great quantity and variety this past summer, though only a very small fraction of the estimated 1.5-5 million species in the world.

Still, they impressed me!

Funny story – back in the day, in high school biology, the teacher explained what exactly mushrooms were. Thirty *mumble* years later, I can still hear him say:

“When you eat a mushroom, you’re eating the sex organs of a fungus!”

The whole class laughed, but it was effective – I didn’t forget that! At the time, I didn’t eat mushrooms at all, though I’ll take some on a salad now, when available.

So, enjoy a sample of what I saw (and it’s not all of them!)

Leave a Reply

