Lyons Woods 3

One last post about Lyons Woods…

I didn’t think I could get so much from such a small preserve!

So, lastly, besides birds and flowers, there were butterflies! Along with the little lovely in the feature photo (anyone know what it is?), there were great spangled fritillaries, various sulphurs/whites, and this dark one that I haven’t identified yet:

This is the best shot. It didn't open its wings, but you can see the eyes on the underside.

This is the best shot. It didn’t open its wings, but you can see the eyes on the underside.

Of course, there were more that wouldn’t let me take their picture – maybe next time!

One of the best butterfly shots I got all summer!  $

One of the best butterfly shots I got all summer! $

But above all, I will remember the trees here, both for the variety and for the imagery.

Some of the more interesting characters

Some of the more interesting characters

You don't realize how big they are without scale!

You don’t realize how big they are without scale!

One of the more striking was one that I don’t think the camera quite captured, so I did tweak it a little bit. As we came to the beginning of the loop the first time, the light was such that under the greenery, the trunks had a reddish hue, contrasting with the bright green branches. Can you see it?

The color combination was so unusual, I had to take a shot at catching it!

The color combination was so unusual, I had to take a shot at catching it!

Dammit, I didn’t see that blue bottle there! Should I leave it or take it out?

Leave a Reply

