Boston

I only have one picture today, one feels hopeful to me.

My heart’s just not here, it’s in Boston.

I grew up as far from Boston as I am from Chicago now, and like Chicago, it dominated the news and set the tone for the suburbs.

I grew up watching the Patriots, the Bruins, the Celtics (still a fan of the last one – go Green!). Read the Boston Globe every day, watched “Doctor Who” and “Monty Python” on WGBH Channel 2.

I still have family out there, fortunately not in the line of fire today, but it seems that now maybe we all are targets.

Whether from religious or political zealotry, I just don’t understand the logic of these kinds of attacks. How does it help your agenda by killing an eight-year-old? Maiming scores of others?

Al Qaeda may have felt successful by altering the way Americans felt about their security in the world, but it did not succeed in changing what it really wanted to change.

What was the point of today’s attack? As of right now, we don’t know. What will come of it? We don’t know that either. Are we going to militarize, become like Israel, or Beirut, or Dublin during the height of the IRA attacks? Do we now have to watch each other with a suspicious eye, further fragmenting our (seemingly) more fragile social fabric?

And if it wasn’t a group? Just a lone psycho? That, in my book, is the scarier option. You can maybe catch a group – the more involved, the more likely a clue is dropped. But a loner? There are so many people alone already that you’ll never see it coming.

So where does that leave us? With more questions than answers, if this post is any indication.

I’m sure I’m not saying anything new here tonight, but only adding my own confusion to the din on the interweb, a din not soon stilled.

My good thoughts go to the victims, my condolences go to the grieving, my hopes go to keeping the country together. And that’s all I think I can do.

At least that’s all tonight.

Leave a Reply

