The Creatures of Greenbelt

It never ceases to amaze me how much wildlife can exist in what is essential a semi-urban area.

Besides the omnipresent squirrels, chipmunks, robins and house sparrows, there exists a whole other level of animals, ones you may not see if you don’t go looking.

You can't see me, can you?

You can’t see me, can you?

As we started out in the east loop, after we had met the Latino couple, just on the edge of the trail was a small form, and as we got closer, we could see it was a young rabbit, small enough to fit in the palms of my hands. It didn’t seem afraid of us, staying and watching us until we got about five feet away, then it hopped into the brush.

But not very far! It seemed to think we couldn’t see it, but I got this shot anyway.

 

 

 

 

A little further on, I was thinking I hadn’t seen any large mammals (deer really) on the entire hike. No sooner did the thought come to me, there she was, staring at us!

You stay there and we'll be cool!

You stay there and we’ll be cool!

Another thing that I have enjoyed on these walks is the opportunity to discover birds that I hadn’t seen before.

A hairy woodpecker! Sweet!

A hairy woodpecker! Sweet!

We saw a bird fly into a bush next to us, a woodpecker. We were able to video and a lot of still shots as it moved around, oblivious to us. I had assumed it was a downy woodpecker, a species that I get coming to my suet feeder at home. I took its picture just to get one in the wild.

When looking at it later for official identification, it seems I caught a hairy woodpecker instead!

Our last stop today was at a small pond on the back side of the Cultural Center. The feature photo is of a frog statue by the pond for kids to interact with. By this pond were some geese, which slowly made their way into the water as we moved around the edge of the pond.

 

Strike a pose!

Strike a pose!   $

 

 

The last one stopped and seemed to strike a pose for me, one I don’t normally see in photos, so here we are!

3 thoughts on “The Creatures of Greenbelt

Leave a Reply

