Challenging Images

Today was going to be a combination post. When we went out Sunday, I had in the back of my mind Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge, which was Lines (I’ve missed the entry time though, I might be able to post some for the new Challenge – Textures!).

I was surprised by how many things I saw that could fall in that category!

So, on to the artsy shots!

First, the path was wet, and furrowed with the tracks of many cyclists:

Wavy lines criss-cross their way across the universe

Wavy lines criss-cross their way across the universe

The open areas allowed an unobstructed view of empty trees:

Pointing to the sun

Pointing to the sun

There had been a controlled burn at some point recently, taking down huge swathes of cattails. It left behind 6-10″ high stalks, devoid of any resemblance of their former life:

They looked like lots of little lines, was my thinking

They looked like lots of little lines, was my thinking; maybe not so much

Lastly, small trees (don’t know what they are) that normally line the riverbank are partially submerged by high water. SONY DSC SONY DSCI like both of these – the black and white is a close crop of the center. Still not quite what I thought it would be, but perhaps interesting in a different way. I was hoping they would look more line-like, but I seem to have gotten more texture than I realized.

To finish off, two more shots I have converted to B&W, with one that seems to work, and one that works, maybe, not so much.

This shot of the cattails looks better in black and white, but I'm still not entirely thrilled with it.

This shot of the cattails looks better in black and white, but I’m still not entirely thrilled with it.

The feature photo in black and white. I think I like this one better!

The feature photo in black and white. I think I like this one better than the color!

Leave a Reply

