Duck, Duck, Goose – and Swan and ?

Continuing my discoveries at Independence Grove, I think the coolest part of seeing all these birds, is the thrill of seeing ones I never thought I would!

There’s the tundra trumpeter swan from yesterday, and all the different ducks, but it’s the unusual that really stands out.

American widgeons, and a gadwall? between them

American widgeons, and a gadwall? between them

I saw something that looked like, but not quite like a loon.

Upon identification?

Sorry about the blurriness - they stayed far away

Sorry about the blurriness – they stayed far away

A common merganser and his mate!

There was an odd multicolored bird, with a white patch on its head.

It was…SONY DSC

A hooded merganser! Wow, two new ones!

But wait, there’s more!

We had walked to the second open spot, and I was able to get a lot of closer shots.

Then this pair showed up:SONY DSC

Red-breasted mergansers! The trifecta – all three American mergansers in one sitting!

So all in all, well worth getting out there!

Some birders were around and they said there was an eared grebe out there. I may have it in a photo (I took more than 500 images) but if I do, most likely it’s blurry or hidden behind larger birds. I was happy to see these, anyway!

And I’ll leave here with an awesome shot (I think) of one of the mute swans:

I think this will make it to my store!

I think this will make it to my store!

2 thoughts on “Duck, Duck, Goose – and Swan and ?

Leave a Reply

