Grant Woods 2: Attack of the Butterflies

Continuing from yesterday

Going through photos for these posts, I realized I took a lot of butterflies in Grant Woods.

So, I thought it best to put them all in one!

Mourning cloak

Mourning cloak

I was still learning about my Sony Alpha 55, hadn’t figured out manual focus yet (I know, read the instructions!), so there are a few that aren’t as focused as they should be.

A fritillary on, yes, a piece of crap.

A great spangled fritillary on, yes, a piece of crap.

These walks were the first time I’d tried to capture the little things of nature, but even taking that into account, I got a lot of butterflies here, maybe more than any other preserve.

Don't know what this one is. Anyone?

Don’t know what this one is, checkerspot or fritillary. Anyone?

I was just happy to catch any of them, with so many flitting about and not landing. There were even some that would fly right up to us – “You want to take my picture? Here I am! Oops, psych! Too slow!”

There are a lot of different kinds of whites and sulphurs, don't know what I have here.

There are a lot of different kinds of whites and sulphurs, don’t know what I have here. Orange sulphur, maybe?

There were those, though, that just seemed to not mind. Maybe they were too focused on what they were doing to care about me and my camera.

Like these two, a common buckeye and an eastern tailed-blue:

Yep, also on a piece of, ahem, crap

Yep, also on a piece of, ahem, crap

And as nice as the buckeye looks in this one, I don’t think this image will end up anywhere except here:

Anyone want a print to hang in their living room?

Anyone want a print to hang in their living room?

So that covers the butterflies – back to walking tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Grant Woods 2: Attack of the Butterflies

Leave a Reply

