Grant Woods 1

I love open fields!

I love open fields!

The next stop on our tour of Lake County Forest Preserves is Grant Woods in Lake Villa.

This preserve is kinda cool, because it has a variety of habitats in its borders. I think it’s my favorite, at least so far!

There are two portions, South and North, divided by Monaville Road. There is a nice underpass, something that is being added to other preserves as the district adds more land across roads. I know of at least two more being built this year. Excellent idea!

So, it was a warm day (OK, fair warning, every hike we went on this summer was a very warm day), but it was partly cloudy, which we thought might cut the heat a bit. It did, a little bit.

I had to hold the camera at full arm's-length to get this shot – I hate being short!

I had to hold the camera at full arm’s-length to get this shot – I hate being short!

The south portion loop goes around an unspoiled tamarack bog. I, of course, couldn’t see too much of it – the trail goes down to almost water-level and the cattails were at full height.

Wildflowers, birds and butterflies were in profusion, with two of those being difficult to photograph. Silly flowers!

No, I’m kidding, of course the birds and butterflies were being difficult!

 

 

That is, except for those I was actually able to shoot:

This frittilary waited until the sun came out and posed for me.

This frittilary waited until the sun came out and posed for me.

Can you see me?

Can you see me?

More, and the north portion, over the next few days! Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Grant Woods 1

  1. Pingback: Grant Woods 2: Attack of the Butterflies | Images of Lake County

  2. Pingback: Grant Woods 3: Return of the Vista | Images of Lake County

Leave a Reply

