Purple Haze

I love to see these come up every year! Can't wait!

I love to see these come up every year! Can’t wait!

It’s still cold, and since tomorrow (today?) is the first day of spring, I want to think about flowers.

Warm, growing, pretty things.

So here are some purple ones, from last year. Most are wildflowers, found in my yard or forest preserves. The feature photo is wild asters, taken in Half Day Forest Preserve.

Milkweed may be considered more pink, but it looks purple here, from Lyons Woods

Milkweed may be considered more pink, but it looks purple here, from Lyons Woods

I have several large patches of wild violets in my backyard. Lovely!

I have several large patches of wild violets in my backyard. Lovely!

Echinecea in Middlefork Savanna

Echinacea in Middlefork Savanna

I think these might be called surprise lilies, but around here, they're known as space lilies!

I think these might be called surprise lilies, but around here, they’re known as space lilies!

One thought on “Purple Haze

Leave a Reply

