Then and Now

Taken in a drier, greener July 2012

Taken in a drier, greener July 2012

Ok, so this may be an unoriginal post, but I wanted to show the extent of the flooding of the Des Plaines River here, by comparing photos I’ve taken before.

The first set is the Trail by marker 9. These are the same curve of the Trail, but the green one was last July.

The rest were taken from the bridge where I’ve seen the beavers. The river was swollen when I took the February shots, and the May 2 shots have it closer to normal depth.

The trees I’ve posted before, but here is a couple other views:

I used this photo before, here

I used this photo before, here

March 2, with a nice ring of ice around them

March 2, with a nice ring of ice around them

March 17, can't even see the stump now

March 17, can’t even see the stump now

This last set is the spot I first saw the beavers. You can see the log in all three:

Feb. 2, and that's the beaver right there!

Feb. 2, and that’s the beaver right there!

May 2, a little lower

May 2, a little lower

May 17, water all around

May 17, water all around

Maybe I’ve fascinated because flood stage here is only about two feet above normal. It just kinda makes you think in a big picture way – if two feet can make that much of a difference here on a river, what can two feet or two meters mean for the oceans’ coasts?

Oh, and it is snowing again, and no comet yet.

2 thoughts on “Then and Now

  1. Having moved from Deerfield to Seattle, I sometimes worry what several feet or meters’ change in the water level of the Puget Sound might do to my new place of residence.

Leave a Reply

