Where It Began

I found lots of different tree fungi, all nicely accented by the snow

I found lots of different tree fungi, all nicely accented by the snow

It’s not the first time I took photos, nor the first time I was in the woods taking photos.

It was the first time I had an idea for a project for taking photos.

Puffballs! Didn't know they grew on trees (ha ha)

Puffballs! Didn’t know they grew on trees (ha ha)

I don’t often get a car to drive around during the week these days, and one January 2011 day, I dropped my husband off at work, and the car was mine! It had been flaking lightly all morning, with just a scattering of snow collected in low spots.

On the way home, I passed a small forest preserve called Old School. I’d only been inside once, for a company picnic, but it seemed like just the thing to do.

There is an exercise loop about a mile long. I figured that would be a good distance to walk, and see if there was anything to photograph.

Fortunately, there was!

It was here that I thought I could make a project of photographing all the forest preserves in the county, a project that I finally got a decent start on this past summer.

Looks carved, but it's the interior of a trunk

Looks carved, but it’s the interior of a trunk

Like most of these posts are turning out, I’ve got more photos than I want to put in one post.

So, more tomorrow!

One thought on “Where It Began

  1. Pingback: The End of the Beginning | Images of Lake County

Leave a Reply

