Rollins Savanna 3

Only one more after this, I promise!

Going around the side loop, we saw more egrets and a great blue heron. Passing back over the bridge, we looked for the ducks, but they were gone.

Can you believe this view?

Can you believe this view?

We had just started along the main loop when I saw something that looked almost planned, but later I could see it was just a coincidental occurrence. Two oaks arched together, framing a smaller tree behind them. I was stunned!

I liked the colors of the grasses too.

After that, it was walking in the sun. And it was hot. And cloudless.

To be honest, I was really feeling it. I was sucking down water like it was unlimited. Even though we had brought two bottles each, I ended up using almost three of them. Out of shape, and did I mention it was hot?

About a half mile from the tree arch (that’s how I think of it now), there is a bird viewing area, set up overlooking a large lake. We stopped there to…look for birds, right, that’s it!

You can just see the turtle on the log just off the point.

You can just see the turtle on the log just off the point.

There weren’t a lot of birds to look at, nearly none that I could see, but there was a turtle sunning itself way out there. In the dead trees I could just make out somethings that looked like birds, but they were too far away to make a definite identification. I thought at the time they might be cormorants, but I didn’t know they were here in the county, so I dismissed that idea. (More about cormorants in a later post)

 

This first fellow was singing in a tree as we came up to the viewing area,

Not sure, but I think this is a dickcissel singing.

Not sure, but I think this is a dickcissel singing.

and this second one was in a tree as we were leaving the area. I didn’t even know there was a bird called a dickcissel, so I can be forgiven for not knowing them on sight, right?

This could be a dickcissel, too.

This could be a dickcissel, too.

 

 

 

Finally, as promised, a ribbon-winning photo! Actually, it is my second one, the first I posted here. They were both entered in the Black and White Landscape category at the Lake County Fair, and they finished 2-3, so I took a red and white ribbon in my first competition. Granted, none of the other 20 photos I’d submitted did anything, but one must start somewhere, right?

Were you expecting something else?

Were you expecting something else?

Tomorrow – something that made the heat worth it!

Leave a Reply

