Let It Snow!

Here we are – as promised – snow pictures!

The clouds broke up in interesting colors

The clouds broke up in interesting colors

The storm eased off in the early morning hours, leaving broken cloud cover. The picture Igot was taken at a high ISO, first time I’ve tried 3200, so it is pretty noisy, but I was able to capture the colors I wanted with the resulting faster shutter speed. I foresee more experimentation!

I was afraid that waiting until today to get pictures might have been a bad idea, but the weather worked out for me.

The snow that fell was heavy and sticky, more than coating everything, really glomming onto everything like big wads of papier mache.

What else was helpful? Not a spot of sunshine peeked through today. None. So despite temps just around freezing, a great quantity of snow didn’t fall off the trees.

Pitch black against white - beautiful!

Pitch black against white – beautiful!

When I first went to leave, I spied three crows sitting in a neighbor’s tree. They stood out more than usual, with only white and gray behind them. I got a few shot before they flew off.

Some of the fruits on the crabapple trees were capped with little ice hats, while others that had provided birds with sustenance were refilled with snow.

The empty skins caught snow

The empty skins caught snow

 

 

 

And that was still in my yard!

 

 

Tomorrow: I walk in the street!

Leave a Reply

