Let It Snow II

A cloud break! No sky though...

A cloud break! No sky though…

Yesterday, I posted about walking in the snow. Today, we start out walking in the neighborhood.

The snow was still pretty deep and not too many sidewalks were cleared. I was really wanting to get into the Swanson and Tripp area, but the entrance by my house was buried in about 10 feet of freshly plowed snow.

So I decided to walk the two blocks to the other entrance to see if it too was totally blocked.

The sky was nearly solidly gray, but over the trees to the west, there was a cloud line that broke up the sameness. It kind of looked like mountains over the trees.

The other entrance also had a mound of snow in front of it, but there was a set of footprints around it, running into the woods. I followed them, stepping into each one. I didn’t want to break through the snow myself, I thought it might be easier using the path already broken through the deep snow, nearly a foot deep in spots. However, I didn’t anticipate the person having a larger stride than I did! I almost should have just made my own path!

The snow still stuck to small things, like vine supports

The snow still stuck to small things, like vine supports

I wasn’t the second person in, either. There were older tracks, somewhat filled in, so they were probably from the previous evening, after most of the snowfall.

You can see in the feature photo how much snow was still on the trees, even 12 hours after. It was a heavy snowfall!

I also saw lots of tracks, deer tracks. I could tell they were deer because they went all the way to the ground and left distinct prints.

They went deep, all the way down

They went deep, all the way down

I should have been ready for what happened next…

 

 

Tomorrow: What happened next

 

Leave a Reply

