Unridden Rails

Which is better?

Which is better?

I try to get out and take pictures of things in the county, building a photo library for my store. Sometimes, there are things that I just come across, my favorite kind of shot.

I’m trying to get photos of all the train stations, and when I stopped at two, there were sections of unused track by them.

The first one was in Fox Lake, a stretch just by the station that ended just before Grand Avenue. I’m not which I like better, the color or black and white.

Looking again, just now, maybe the color is better for this shot, what with the fall leaves emphasizing the unused nature of the track.

 

Is it better straight?

Is it better straight?

Is it better at an angle?

Is it better at an angle?

The other was next to the Round Lake train station. It was just a short stretch, not linked to anything.

Here are a few different shots of that one. The colors of the weeds were what I thought were interesting, but they blend too much, I think. I’m working on another shot, better composed, trying to get a bit more of a focal point.

I may post those tomorrow.

I do like this one in black and white better than the color

I do like this one in black and white better than the color

2 thoughts on “Unridden Rails

Leave a Reply

