Des Plaines River 2

Next on the occasional series about Lake County Forest Preserves, another section of the Des Plaines River Trail!

May 2012: We parked at the Kilbourne Road access and walked north. It didn’t take me very long to realize how out-of-shape I was. What helped? Stopping and taking photos, of course!

A flower that I later found out is called a Canada anemone

A flower that I later found out is called a Canada anemone $

It was an early spring for us, warm earlier than usual by about 6 weeks according to my crabapples, and average wetness.

I was surprised by the swampy areas. It was one of the first of many over this past year. I guess you really do need to get out of the house!

Anyway, I also answered a personal question – what did robins do before yards? I saw more jumping and flying around the wet muddy areas than I could believe, and it made sense.

I was so excited at the photo opportunities that

See them in the far tree?

See them in the far tree?

in my one of first swamp pictures, I didn’t even see the wood ducks in the tree!

And one of those opportunities was successful, being a ribbon-winner (red) at the Lake County Fair this past year. That made me think that maybe I could be on to something here – someone else liked one of my photos!

The first wildlife I took deliberate photos of were some of the ever-present mallards, looking like they were getting ready to pair off for the breeding season. I was able to experiment with my new Sony Alpha 55 and the filter my kids got me for Mothers Day, a polarizer.

It sat for a while looking at us, then flew off around the bend to the right

It sat for a while looking at us, then flew off around the bend to the right

It was a quiet walk, with wild iris, clover and milkweed blooming. And the butterflies! I spent a lot of time watching them, waiting for them to land, but it seemed like a game to them – ooh, am I going to land here? or over here? More than once, throughout the summer, one would fly very close to us, daring us to capture its image. Stupid butterflies!

I didn't even know there were butterflies called "question mark"!

I didn’t even know there were butterflies called “question mark”!

We got to the fishing pond (I don’t know what it’s called) and that seemed like a good point to turn around. Managed four miles that day. Not a bad start!

Note: Any photos marked with a $ are available on products in my Zazzle store. Check it out, and if you have any requests, let me know! Thanks!

My ribbon-winning photo!

My ribbon-winning photo! $

One thought on “Des Plaines River 2

  1. Pingback: Rollins Savanna 3 | Images of Lake County

Leave a Reply

