Colorful Winter

I had a chance to get out to take photos (particularly for the Photo Challenge) today, not too cold (but it’s coming – blah!), so I stopped at a small preserve nearby, Lake Carina.

Three Elements - earth, water, air

Three Elements – earth, water, air

The lake is actually an old quarry that filled in. There is a mile-long grass trail that goes around the lake.

Everything was soggy. The warmth melted any snow and ice around, except in shadowy areas, and on the lake itself.

Not much wildlife, except for a few seagulls and a belted kingfisher that flew off before I could get a good picture.

It was overcast, making it challenging to get decent photos, but there were opportunities!

Love the colors!

Love the colors!

I made my way down to the shore to get closeups of the ice, just as the sun worked its way out for a short time. Score!

I didn't notice at the time, but the clouds almost look like leaves on the tree!

I didn’t notice at the time, but the clouds almost look like leaves on the tree!

I couldn’t stay much longer, but it was worth the stop!

I’ve got to get myself a website – there were way too many good shots to post here!

Hmm, maybe a second post later…

5 thoughts on “Colorful Winter

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Dibbler Dabbler

  2. Pingback: Beyond!!! | Beyond Beauty Tips

  3. Pingback: Beyond - Weekly Photo Challenge | Things To Rave About

Leave a Reply

