Frozen Vegetables

In 2010, I grew broccoli in my garden for the first time. It was interesting to watch its progress, having only ever seen it in the grocery store. Broc 1499

The plants got tall, but unfortunately, didn’t produce very large heads.

I also didn’t realize how quickly the heads flowered after they formed, so I didn’t actually harvest any. A lesson learned!

However, letting them go to seed had several benefits.Broc 1490

First, it made for interesting winter pictures for the whole season.

Second, I didn’t have to figure out what to do with any excess produce.

And third, they seeded themselves and I had broccoli in my garden the next spring!

Of course, those didn’t produce very large heads either. Still working on that…

One thought on “Frozen Vegetables

  1. Pingback: Gourds | Images of Lake County

Leave a Reply

