Finally, some winter pictures!

So, finally, last night we had some wintry weather – freezing rain and snow. Of course, it got really cold, too, but I forced myself to get out and check out the Des Plaines River Trail for anything photogenic.

The area I was going to has many signs of beavers, all since this past fall, and I wanted to see if I could see one.

There were many trees looking like this

There were many trees looking like this

All I could see at first were mallard ducks and Canada geese, all pretty skittish and staying far away from me. In a little inlet, there was a large gathering of both, with some little brown birds flitting around. I couldn’t get a clear picture of them, but what I could see makes me think they were American tree sparrows. Too bad I can’t add them to my bird photo album!

Anyway, I was walking around a bend in the river, and I saw a V-shape in the water, and I watched it move to a log and disappear. It reappeared about 10 feet further and disappeared at a tree root in the shoreline.

I couldn’t see what it was exactly, but a few minutes later, coming from the other direction, I saw a head swimming! It definitely looked beaver, but it was too cloudy and dark for my photos to be any good. Drat!

So I just satisfied myself that I actually saw one, and got some other shots instead. A couple I’m going to add to my store, so not a bad trip!

Ice coated this little bit of grass growing in a wall

Ice coated this little bit of grass growing in a wall

I liked the 3 shades of brown in this view

I liked the shades of brown in this view

This one will probably make it into my store

This one will probably make it into my store

Note: I meant to mention in the post yesterday, that the Fort Hill Heritage Museum in Mundelein also has a lot of North Shore Line memorabilia on display at its location in Lions Park. Check it out!

4 thoughts on “Finally, some winter pictures!

  1. Aah! The icicles are unbelievably awesome. I really love that photo. The reflection/shadowy thing beneath them? Fantabulous. I’m gushing, I know, but this is an incredible photo. So there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

